Dawn Hershman, MD, MS, Professor, Medicine and Epidemiology, Leader, Breast Cancer Program, Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center, Columbia University, Komen Scholar, Susan G. Komen

Dr. Hershman is a Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology with Tenure and is Director of the Breast Cancer Program of the Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center. She has developed nationally recognized expertise in breast cancer treatment, prevention, survivorship, late-effects of cancer therapy, health outcomes and health disparities research.

She was awarded career development awards from the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) and the National Cancer Institute (K07). She has subsequently received research funding from the American Cancer Society, ASCO, Department of Defense, Susan Komen Foundation, Breast Cancer Research Foundation, AVON Foundation, and the NCI. In addition, she was selected to be a Komen Scholar. She has mentored numerous faculty members who have been granted mentored career development awards.  She has a strong publication record with over 300 papers and including many in high profile journals, with many receiving national press coverage.

She has several national leadership roles in oncology. She is the Vice-Chair of the SWOG NCORP research base and Co-Chair of the Cancer Care Delivery Committee. Within ASCO she was selected to participate in the first Leadership Development Program and has been the Chair of the Grants Selection Committee, the leader of the education tack for Health Services, she has been on the quality of care committee and the publications committee. She is Co-Chair of the CancerLinq Research and Publications Committee. She serves on the breast cancer and the cancer care delivery steering committees of NCI. She is on the editorial board for the Journal of Clinical Oncology and is an Associate Editor at the Journal of the National Cancer Institute.

Dr. Hershman has received several awards including the highly prestigious Advanced Clinical Research Award in Breast Cancer from the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the Advanced Medical Achievement Award from the Avon Foundation and she was recently awarded the Conquer Cancer Foundation Research Professorship in Breast Cancer Comparative Effectiveness Research.

Go to Top